1st and 2nd Line Support Volunteer Role

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Jamal, Mar 9, 2010.

1. Jamal

Jamal New Member

Hi all,

I am writing to get some advice on this.

I graduated from Uni last year, with Computer Science and Networking Degree. Since then I been applying for lots of IT Support and helpdesk roles, but didn't get any job yet, and the main reason is that I don't have any IT experience, althought I have been working as a customer service assistant for the last 5 years. I have now decided to start looking for voluntary jobs to gain experience, I found this role IT Support Volunteer for a local charity organisation. I applied and they invite me for a good chat on this Friday.

They are saying that the meeting will be an informal discussion of your application. We will ask you some questions about your skills and experience and you will have an opportunity to ask us about the role. You are not required to prepare anything in advance

My question is why are they saying "'you are not required to prepare anything in advance"? how am I going to ask questions if I dont prepare?.

And what question will they ask me about my skills and experience although I don't have any IT related experience and what questions to ask on the day about the role?

And finally is this a good step to get into IT career?

Many thanks for your advices..

Certifications: BSc (Hons) Computer Science
    WIP: ???
  2. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

Generally speaking in an interview you may be required to give a presentation to a panel, this is certainly the case for higher level positions.

They should ask you what would you do if you found yourself in this situation or that, how would you prioritise this and that? it's all about being aware of how and why things are done, knowing that if you have two calls come in at the same time which takes priority and why.