1 Year later

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by rax, Aug 18, 2008.

1. rax

rax Megabyte Poster

Well, I noticed in my profile that my join date is: 15-Aug-2007, so that's 1 year and 3 days and I thought it would be nice to give an update as to what I have gained in my time since joining. I guess it would be nice to be able to list what certifications I've gained in the year since finding and joining this forum but seeing as I've not gained any, I guess I'll tell you what else I have gained.

1. I SAVED ~£5,000 by not joining a training provider (ok so not a gain but I feel it's definitely worth a mention!)
    2. I started studying for A+ but found it wasn't for me, too basic/boring (yes I know, "if it's so easy you should just sit the exam" but please see Phoenix post regarding his Active directory exam)
    3. I landed my first job in IT, with no qualifications, thanks to the help and support of the CF members
    4. I started studying for MS exam 70-271/272, which is still a work in progress (thanks to numbers 5, 6 & 7)
    5. My girlfriend decided it would be a nice time in our lives and her career path to have a baby, which is due October the 5th :D
    6. I bought a brand new flat which is just awesome
    7. Landed my 2nd job in IT with a very nice salary increase and a massive travel cost/time reduction

Not a massive list but I'm very happy with my last year. I've obtained a good starting point for a career, over doubled my salary, got myself onto the property ladder and starting/started a family.

It's hard to believe this time last year I was moping around my house, whining about how I'm going nowhere and would never be able to get into IT.

- Dave