MCSA - Window's Server 2008

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by TheScotchEgg, Aug 7, 2014.

1. TheScotchEgg

TheScotchEgg New Member

Hello Guys,

I'm looking for a little advice/information regarding gaining my MCSA in Window's Server 2008.

Am I correct in saying these are the exams I will need to study for? [70-640, 70-642 and 70-646]

I've been working in IT for a couple of years now on a 1st line desk with a little desktop support added in and I want to progress to the ops team, I just don't know where to start, any information and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Jake :D

WIP: Window's Server 2008/2012
  2. BB88

BB88 Kilobyte Poster Gold Member

Hi TheScotchEgg,

You are correct in saying that the 70-640, 70-642 and 70-646 are required to obtain the MCSA: Windows Server 2008, https://www.microsoft.com/learning/en-us/mcsa-windows-server-2008-certification.aspx

I've actually just started studying for my 70-640 this week and have been reading the Don Poulton book, http://www.amazon.com/MCTS-70-640-Exam-Cram-Configuring/dp/0789737914

This is also a BRILLIANT collection of videos dedicated for the 70-640, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OTpbQkW3kj4&list=PL77E3084DA334494D

They also have one on the 70-642, but nothing as of yet for the 70-646 :)

Certifications: CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, MCSA: Office 365,, 70-410, 70-680
    WIP: CompTIA: Security+
  3. TheScotchEgg

TheScotchEgg New Member

Thanks matey,

some really helpful information there. I think I'm going to ease myself into server administration by going for an MTA.

I think, correct me if I'm wrong you get the MTA cert by doing one of the following exams.

349: Windows Operating System
    365: Windows Server Administration
    366: Networking
    367: Security

I would do the Window's Server Administration one [Server 2008]

Again, thanks for the info :)

4. monobrow

monobrow Nibble Poster