MCSE ..VMWARE question

Discussion in 'Virtual and Cloud Computing' started by Andr3w, May 7, 2008.

1. Andr3w

Andr3w New Member

Hi,

I intend to learn this MCSE. I am new to this MCSE and VMWare.

I have e2160 Intel Dual CPU, 1GB DDR-RAM2, 80GB (divided into 3 partition).

I intend to read those MS Press books to prepare for MCSE.

I have a few questions. Hope somebody can help me.

1) VMWare Server / VMWare Workstation
    Which is better to prepare for this MCSE exams? I do not care about the cost factor. The ease of use and setup and suitability for learning is what important to me.

2) I have Windows XP installed in my main partition. Do I need to uninstall that 1st before i install VMWare or can I just install VMWare straight away?
    (Sorry as I never use VMWare before and I do no want to mess up my com)

3) When I setup those VMWare and Windows Server 2003 and Windows XP (if I have to), will it affect my 3 partitions? Meaning in the middle of all those, will I suddenly be in a situation where I have to destroy all my partition and repartition again? This is very important because all my important files on those other partitions will be lost right?

Hope someone can answer my this noob questions. :oops:

2. Phoenix
    Honorary Member

Phoenix 53656e696f7220 4d6f64

First off, buy more memory, memory is cheap atm and 4GB will cost you less than VMWare Workstation 6

find out what your mobo can support and fill it up :)

Workstation is a lot better than server for certain things, automation, snapshot recovery, etc, very handy for a home test lab, but Server will suffice for studying and is free (the money would be better spent on memory, but if you got some green, do both!)

Workstation and Server are applications that sit on top of XP, so no worries there
    also look at maybe a second HDD or two for VMs, VMs primary bottleneck on desktops is disk i/o so if you can spread the load across a few disks you will be able to run more VMs