New user - Advice needed!

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by CU_AMiGA, Jan 22, 2014.

1. CU_AMiGA

CU_AMiGA New Member

Hi everyone.

I posted something similar to this on another forum but someone recommended me to post it here too.

Basically I am looking into getting into an entry level it support type role. I have quite a bit of computer hardware and software knowledge although it is probably a little outdated. So my plan is to do the Comptia A+ exam and then work my way up learning new and more advanced things. Maybe even doing multiple exams in succession.

After looking at the top 2 sticky threads my initial questions have changed. But I would like to ask:

1) Am debating about either self learning or doing online courses. If I take the online course route, what are the recommended website/companies to use?

2) If I choose the self taught route then how/where would you actually book the actual exam to?! (Sorry if that sounds stupid). Also what are the best books/guides to buy to help you study?

3) Any other advice that I may be forgotten or need to know. :) (or any other courses suggestions that would suit someone who wants to get on the general hardware and software it support technician type role)

Thanks for your time!

Last edited: Jan 22, 2014
  2. Messiah74

Messiah74 Bit Poster

Hey CU Amiga

Welcome to the forum , I have just joined myself

When I started the process of studying I looked into online courses and supported courses from private companies and invite a few of them round to the house to get info and more importantly costs and let me tell you , I reckon the markup is huge given the cars they all drove lol ...all joking aside I reckon if you need 1 on 1 support and your hand held a little then the training option may be the best , I on the other hand chose to save myself a few thousand pounds and do it myself.