Advice on courses, TP's and life!

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by perky, Dec 5, 2013.

1. perky

perky New Member

Hi All

For this post I would like to start by putting things into some context! I’m a Project Manager (contractor) with 4 years’ experience primarily in the defence sector. Whilst not a techno-biff, I have no experience of the IT world apart from as a front-end Microsoft user.

I am looking to broaden my horizon’s a little. I have been looking at a course with National IT Learning centre (NITLC). They are offering the following courses:

CompTia A+

CompTia Network +

MCSA Windows 8

MCSA Windows Server 2012

CCNA

The cost of this course is £2995 of which I would need to pay (via my ltd company) £995 as the rest is covered by MOD (I’m ex forces and get still have money available for training (ELC))

I’m not looking to become a network engineer, its more so that I can work on IT projects and understand more about what the technical lead is telling me.

So my questions are:

1) Has anyone got any recent experience of NITLC

2) Is it worth doing all these courses or just do the CompTia A+ N+ via self-study

3) Is there other courses worth doing which would make me more contractible to IT projects

All and any advice would be greatly appreciated

Regards

2. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

Please have a read of my first 4 or 5 pinned threads in this forum (Training & Development) to get a better idea of training providers v self training, the different certs and who they are aimed at as well as general training and developmental bits and pieces.