Okay, I'm a firm Symantec hater now

Discussion in 'Software' started by GW, Aug 4, 2006.

1. GW

GW Byte Poster

I've been using Symantec System Works for a few years now and been happy, last version I had installed on my system was 2005. Recently I got a low hard drive space warning on my C drive and I discovered that I had 191MB's left of space.

I started moving the downloaded items to my D drive so I could burn them off later but soon I got a low space warning on my D drive (less than 100MB's left), then I really started wondering what is going on since I have two 120Gig SATA drives I shouldn't have ran out of space that quickly.

After deleting a lot of downloaded items or burning them to CD/DVD I was still very low on disc space, matter of fact I only gained a couple gigs of free space on either drive.

On further investigation I discovered that the majority of the space being used up was in the \Recycler\NPROTECT folder located on both drives. I had to uninstall Symantec SystemWorks 2005 from my system and I was able to delete about 70Gigs of files from the directory on the C drive and about 20Gigs on the D drive folder.

There were still over 7Gigs left on the C drive and 3Gigs on the D drive that I was not able to delete, after some searching I finally found the command that would allow the files and folder to be deleted which finally freed up the last of the space being used by those two directories.

Now after three days of cleaning my drives I now have almost 90Gigs free on my C drive and almost 40Gigs free on my D drive (still burning stuff off). But I can't understand why after over a year of having Systemworks 2005 installed on my system that it would go out of control like that and eat up all of my free space, probably Symantec screwed up on a program update or something.

But using a discount coupon I got a copy of Panda and so far it found one virus on my system that Norton did not see so I'm pretty happy with that.