Hi there

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by zarathustra, Apr 24, 2014.

1. zarathustra

zarathustra New Member

Hi new guy here.

I've been interested in IT since I was 10 so 19 years give or take a few months. After a decent amount of time in the forces where I had 3 jobs at the same time, one of which involved supporting users with various software and hard ware issues I felt it was time to leave and try my hand at something new so I chose IT as my new career.

I did a 7 week resettlement course which covered the 70-680, 70-686 and the 70-640 modules as well as Security +. The price of the course also includes upgrading my (eventual) MCSA Server 2008 to 2012 and MCSE Server 2012 Infrastructure.

Sadly being a bit of a slow learner I'm still studying to pass my exams and am planning to draw out the learning so that I can get experience whilst learning so I don't end up being over qualified and under experienced.

I'm also trying to secure my first IT support job.

Any way enough with the life story, so hi again and I promise I'll try not to ask too many newbie or stupid questions.

2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

I wouldn't say you are a slow learner, its just MCSA and MCSE aren't really for people with less than a years hands on, I've been working in IT for nearly 20 years and I'd struggle to pass MCSE.

Some of my certs took 6 months of study and thats with years of experience.

Would you expect a civilian to be able to ace the assault course, abseil from a helicopter, hit a target at 800m or drive a tank in 7 weeks ?

Its a profession, you don't become an expert overnight, 'Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert'. Frankly the way people treat the profession and the credentials has made the phrase meaningless, which is why people won't take an MCSE without experience seriously.

Welcome! :D

Last edited: Apr 24, 2014
  3. zarathustra

zarathustra New Member

Thanks for the reply.