Gremlins

Discussion in 'Networks' started by zxspectrum, Sep 18, 2014.

1. zxspectrum

zxspectrum Terabyte Poster Forum Leader Gold Member

Would anyone have any ideas why a set of student accounts old and new would deny access to a users mapped drive.

We have them set via a log in script to map like this \\student-server\users\student etc and the path would be to the H drive .

What we are getting is random people being denied access. This can be after a password reset, when they log off etc, there is no definitive set and it is jjust random. The way we remedy this is to fully re image thee pc/laptop, but there has to be a quicker way and a way to understand why we are getting random people having the issue.

Is there a report i could run from AD for each user to give an indication of the issue or would anyone know how to fix the issue without having to re image a computer???

Im new to AD still so please bear with me if im coming across unclear

Thanks for any help

Ed

Certifications: BSc computing and information systems
    WIP: 70-680
  2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Do you have the H: drive path set as the users home directory in AD?
    (Under Profile Tab of the user account properties)

3. Nyx

Nyx Byte Poster

Could be a replication issue?
    Users would get access denied when their password expire. Normally logon/logoff refreshes the access tokens, you can always double-check the effective permissions for any folder.

4. zxspectrum

Hey guys

Yes Simon, we map to the H drive. And Nyx, its machine specific as the user can log onto another machine, without any issue.

There was an issue with users not being able to see the drive after a password reset. What we did to remedy that was to copy thee profile path in AD, delete it, then paste it back in.???

Ed

5. Nyx

Nyx Byte Poster