Junior IT roles,Java specific?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Twinklingfour, Sep 26, 2014.

1. Twinklingfour

Twinklingfour New Member

Hi Everyone,

I am an Oracle Certified Java Professional SE6 (certified in May 2014) who has 8 year gap after 3 years as Java programmer. Though I am getting few calls and interviews, people are focusing too much on my gap years! Rejection letter says I haven't updated my skills ,though I try to explain I got certified only a few months back and I am currently doing a project at home .

Can anyone please let me know any other IT roles other than junior Java programmer developer I can apply for? I also hold Electronics Engineering degree from a reputed university.

Many Thanks
    Twinklingfour.

2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

You should know the gig if you worked in the industry for 3 years.

Congrats on the pass ! However there is far more to know than just OCJP, thats just the first steps as a programmer. There are many other skills, tools and frameworks to learn.

If you hold an engineering degree there are hundreds of embedded jobs out there you can apply for. Some will be Java based, but I wouldn't constrain yourself to just Java roles.

Recruiters can be trouble to deal with, find a way to explain your gap that doesn't cause issues and you should be fine.

Why did you take an 8 year gap ?

Java 8 is now out, its not yet widely in use, but it does have significant changes, they have introduced some concepts from functional programming.

Last edited: Sep 27, 2014
  3. Twinklingfour

Twinklingfour New Member