Engineering to Architect - Job Interview

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by BraderzTheDog, Aug 5, 2014.

1. BraderzTheDog

BraderzTheDog Kilobyte Poster

Hi Gents,

Hope you are all well!

I have a job interview tomorrow for an architect role in network security. I'm wondering if you have any advice on how to make myself stand out from the competition (in the right way)?

I'm currently a network engineer (established to senior level) and this would progressively be the next step up. The only difference is I would be moving to a smaller company and be responsible for more of the politics and process element which is quite new to me.

At the moment I dabble in technical design / process / strategy / sustainability and scalability but the move would make this a more active element of my workload.

I would be more than happy to take all advice! So far, I've got a new shirt, plenty of documents to show my skills (in a fancy pouch) and a pair of geeky specks! I should look the part if anything :)

Certifications: CCNA R&S, CCNA-SEC, CCSA, JNCIA FWV, MCITP, MCTS, MTA, A+
  2. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

Hi mate I've just done this within the past month, going from Server engineer to Solutions Architect (although I've not started the role yet).