Losing hope.

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by John121, Apr 8, 2014.

1. John121

John121 New Member

Hi everyone,

I am new to this forum so hopefully it will benefit me. I am an IT graduate looking for a entry level job in IT for over 7 months and I am currently working part time at primark and doing a voluntary position as IT Support at Citizen Advice Bureau (joined last month).

I am losing hope in finding a job as I feel I am getting nowhere. I need help

2. Apexes

Apexes Gigabyte Poster

Hi John,

Understand your frustration. Experience tends to prevail over coming straight from uni at the moment.

However! don't lose hope. you're obviously moving in the right direction with the voluntary support which is always a help.

Where are abouts are you located, and what sort of jobs have you been looking to go into? The key will be to find the entry level roles, the typical basic deskside support, helpdesk, frontline etc. There tend to be quite a fair amount of these roles from taking a quick glance on the job sites. (South west anyway!)

Whilst the first job you get won't necessarily be the one you want or like, you'll be getting tremendous experience to systems on a live production environment, which counts for tons on the CV.

I interviewed a few people earlier this year for a level 1 helpdesk role, 1 of the guys was straight out of uni, similar to you, with no experience. He could however, answer every technical question i threw at him - which was a plus in my book, so i took a gamble and brought him in - since then he's taken some time to get used to an enterprise environment, but he's spot on - he's spent extra time working and putting in the hours, and even helping out with some out of hours stuff. a year down the line he's progressing well enough that he'll probably go onto a 2nd line role, and then a few more years after that? who knows, probably even bigger and better.