Difference between 1st, 2nd and 3rd line support?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by hugorilho, May 29, 2009.

1. hugorilho

hugorilho Byte Poster

Hey guys,

I'm new in IT (well, TBH, haven't even started yet...) and new to the UK. I'm sure that there similar jobs to the ones in thread title in Portugal where I come from. But in the company where I use to work there was this tech guy who drove around our county (in Portugal we call it districts) and fix problems that would occur with the companies computers. Therefore I must admit that I don't know the differences between the jobs mentioned in the thread title . I'm studying for my MCDST. What kind of jobs would this enable me to apply?

Certifications: MCDST
  2. fatp

fatp Byte Poster

Hi buddy.

If you do a search, there are many threads like this one, and I have personally posted one myself.

The definition tends to vary from company, sector etc but IMO is as below:

1st Line Support - Helpdesk (Job titles such as Helpdesk Analyst, First Line Support, Call Logger)
    Typically involves resolving calls over the phone in ans ervice desk environment and may escalte to 2nd line support.

2nd Line Support - Desktop Support (Job titles such as IT Technician, PC Engineer, Desktop Support Analyst)
    Typically involves onsite desktop support of all workstations, printers, scanners etc

3rd Line Support - Network Support (Job titles such as Netowrk Admin, Network Manager, Server Engineer)

Typically involves onsite support of all servers and dedicated to maintenance of network related issues.

FatP :)

3. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

Top Poster
    of the Month

Good breakdown Fatp, nice one :biggrin