next career step

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Wires_are_bad, Sep 28, 2007.

1. Wires_are_bad

Wires_are_bad Nibble Poster

Hi guys

Although I haven't really posted on here that much, I've followed so much of the advice on here (and sites related to this forum, such as Pete's) and found all the info so helpful.

Once I finished my IT degree, this forum helped me put together a really good CV and I also done six months of voluntary IT work that helped me get my current job!

I've purchased the A+ and N+ books, but I've been trying to get as much hands on experience as possible before I do any further theory based studies (although I have been studying both books).

I've been in working on a technical helpdesk based role (for a software company) for the past year and to be honest I've learnt a great deal. It really helps when your in an IT environment as you pick up alot.

I've recently been involved in cabling and patching for our new office which was also a bonus! I've been promised that I'll be getting involved more with the servers and maybe even get the opportunity to provide technical support for our clients (at the moment we only support the software we provide).

I'm sure after reading all this that most of you must be thinking that sounds pretty good, but theres just so much Im unhappy with and its really starting to affect me. I just wanted some advice really on what to do next :(

The issues I have are that there is no where near enough attention to support and testing as there should be for a software company. Changes and new features are rolled to the live environment with no testing at all in some cases and when things go wrong then I get the wrath of the client. Now don't get me wrong, Im 1st line support so these should go to me, but after i've flagged these issues up with our tehnical director nothing ever seems to happen!