a question

Discussion in 'CIW Certifications' started by Andrea_69, Apr 23, 2014.

1. Andrea_69

Andrea_69 New Member

Hi everybody
    I have an important question that its answer can help me a lot in order to gain a right way for my job future.
    I graduated bachelor degree in IT and have a little experience in web development and design, being interested in working, but as all of you know for getting a good job (as a web developer) I require lots of specific skills in this field.
    So, at the moment I have two options and I do not know which one will help me more effectively to gain a good job.
    The first option is going to university of Nottingham(I live in Nottingham) to pursue master degree in IT , and the second option is to attend some relevant web design classes and get a CIW certification online(distance learning).
    I really do not know if I go to the university how much experience I will get, which are related to my job ,and also after spending lot of money on university will I be able to get my favorite job as a web developer??!
    Or this is better to that I can spend money for the second option instead of university and after getting a certification , will I be able to obtain my favorite job??
    I will appreciate you if give me advice that which way is the best to do.
    Manay thanks,
    Andrea

2. shadowwebs

shadowwebs Megabyte Poster

instead of spending thousands of pounds on a further degree, if you want to go in to the area of web developing then you're best bet is to self-study in my opinion and build up a portfolio of work that you can show off at interview and get on your cv. look at different technologies / code languages that you could learn and go from there. maybe a couple of sites you could look at are: udemy.com and codeacademy.com

Certifications: compTIA A+, Apple Certified Technical Coordinator 10.10 (OS X Yosemite, Server and Support)
    Andrea_69 likes this.
  3. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award