CIW Foundations Self Study

Discussion in 'CIW Certifications' started by NeilH, Dec 2, 2006.

1. NeilH

NeilH New Member

Hi all

Im looking to take the CIW Foundations exam but due to astronomical charges at local training centres i'm planning on using the CIW self study packs from ComputerPREP.com.

Anyone have experience of these? Also, what software will I need as a minimum, i assume they dont include any?

Regards
    Neil

2. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

I've used some of the manuals.
    A bit pricey, but very good!

You don't need any software to study CIW, but if you are serious about getting into web design, you are going to have to become proficient at at least one package.

When I studied with the OU, we were encouraged to produce our web stuff using notepad, or a really simple editor - I learnt a lot that way.

Certifications: MCT, MCTS, i-Net+, CIW CI, Prince2, MSP, MCSD
  3. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Jonny you are a poser :biggrin

Notepad is one of the most versatile applications there is but for a beginner to create modern day web pages with it, would be tough to say the least.

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  4. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

8)

That's true!
    But I believe in it as a way of learning.

The problem these days is that modern packages let you do so much stuff just by 'drag and drop' that there is no real requirement to actually understand how anything works.

The code they generate is so unwieldly that you probably would struggle to understand it even if you know XHTML.

I must admit, I've had many instances where FrontPage has simply refused to put an image on the right side of a horizontal line and the only way to fix it was to edit the code myself.

Maybe I'm getting old...

:disguise

5. csx

csx Megabyte Poster

I would highly recommend learning to code in Notepad as the code generated by some packages can be bloody awful.