Active directory understanding for a different exam?

Discussion in 'Active Directory Exams' started by shocksl, May 9, 2012.

1. shocksl

shocksl Byte Poster

Hey guys

I am studying for an MCTS 70-680 exam.

It states that i need to know an overall understanding of overall Active directory structures etc and basic understanding of IPV4 and IP6 structures in order to be able to study for the exam in question.

So what is the best way I can learn more about Active Directory structures etc. ( even though the exam is NOT on active directory). I just need good knowledge on the area.

thanks for any help.

thanks

2. RichyV

RichyV Megabyte Poster

Hi again shocksl,

hope the 680 study is going well...

This is an ideal candidate for 'labbing'. You can setup a quick and easy domain with a trial version of Server 2008 R2 and a Win7 system (Ultimate or Enterprise) as this is the only real way to "test real world" scenarios with your Win7 setup.
    The vids I used certainly went through it from the point of view that you had a lab setup to run through what they were teaching you.
    It is quite quick and easy to do so...

As for IPv4/6, I'd just have a read through the ideas on the internet, there's plenty of resource available and you're only looking at it from the point of view of someone needing to kniow the basics of the differences between them.

It is well covered in the MS Press Books too...

HTH

Certifications: B.Sc.(Hons), MBCS. MCP (271,272), MCDST, MCTS (680), MCITP:EDST7, MCSA:WIN7, MCPS, MCNPS
    WIP: 70-686, then onto MCSE: Desktop Infrastructure via MCSA: Server 2012...
    shocksl likes this.
  3. Boffy

Boffy Megabyte Poster

Certifications: BSc Computer Game Technology, A+
    WIP: MOS 2010
    shocksl likes this.
  4. algorithm&blues

algorithm&blues Nibble Poster